Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Need Your Help

feebeejeebee

Hi

I am a teacher in an Infant school with a nursery and I am currently looking into the changes to the nursery funding for 3 and 4 year olds and the issues that it will cause being raised from 12.5 to 15. I am trying to put together FAQ questions that need answering for different types of settings including PVIs and maintained nurseries. What questions do you have about it so far that you want to find out - flexibility of sessions, lunchtime provision, staffing ratios etc? I would love to hear as it will help me to make sure I address as many issues as possible.

Thanks ever so much

Fi :o

Hi

I am a nursery manager, running a term time only nursery. The main issue that we have is currently if a child attends for two EYEE sessions in one day they have to be separated with a 30 min break, With the increase to a three hour session we will not have time for the break. Unless we extend our day which we do not REALLY want to do. We operate on the site of a school so try to keep the same hours as far as possible. We are hoping that they will change the rule, but wolud appriciate the heads up asap incase our session times have to be changed for september.

claire

We already run the 15 hours NEF. To offer two sessions on the same day we also have to have a 30 minute break and any children doing both sessions MUST be taken off the premises by a parent or carer.We therefore, can only offer a 3 hour session in the morning(9 till 12) and 2.5 hour in the afternoon(12.30 till3).We are also on school premises and therefore, can only operate when they are open.

Why don't you start a lunch club to cover this break? Children can bring packed lunch we used to run one for 45 minutes allowing children to attend both sessions.

Hi