Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

New Nursery Setting

Dear all,

I have just been registered by Ofsted as a daycare provider, and officially opened the pre-school in sept. I have 6 children attending the nursery at present between the ages of 2-4, (registered for 26 children) the problem is we seem (myself , the manager and 1 nursery assistant) not to be structured, and am afraid that once we have at least 20 children :o it might get really difficult to get into a right routine.

My background is not in the pre-school field, but it has been my ambition to set a pre-school, l will be undertaking a DPP course shortly. I employed a manager who has 4 years experience, but not as a manager she was a room leader in a private nursery.

The nursery is based in a church hall, plus a room, we bring all the toys out daily, which distracts the children during the pre-school work i.e pencil control, numbers and letters activities, b/c the manager work was previously in a house converted nursery arranging the hall, and controlling the children just 6 at the moment l think is not her strong points b/c all the activities and children are based in a room.

we also have to pack, and unpack every single day, am so sorry for waffling, :( but i strongly need advise from any of you lovely ladies and gents l add, who also work from a church hall to give advise on routines and setting up, do you bring all the toys out daily, how do you start your day etc etc.. The Nursery is open from 8am to 2pm l have to get to the hall every day at 7 am to set up, and we are still setting up till past 9, something is not right. please help xD

thank you :(

opps another quick question b/f l go to bed, get up at 6 everyday now enough about my personal life. I heard not sure whether it is true or not that all managers from october 05 must have NVQ level 4 in management and all staff must have NVQ level 2 or above.

thanking you again :)

Hi Toro