Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Christmas Planning

Hi! Some of you may have read my previous topic in another area...so just to fill you in, I'm a 3rd year student at Roehampton and as part of my R.E assignment I need to create a medium term plan! I have therefore chosen CHRISTMAS!!

I was wondering whether you just focus on one aspect of Christmas...such as gifts?

I have a few ideas, but would really appreciate your thoughts and any ideas of your own to inspire me!

A few of my idea's...

-I was thinking that an investigation table may be useful to introduce the topic! e.g. pictures and sensory objects, so children can begin to ask their own questions.

-Use a book to start off the topic which involves giving gifts rather than recieving.

-I thought it would be a nice idea for children to create their own gifts which could be sent off to children that are less fortunate or perhaps to those in unfortunate countries (not to sure whether that is going far)

Hm, could be a bit late for Christmas Child shoeboxes - but it might be worthwhile looking into it.

Gifts for elderly people? Doesn't need to be much, we've gift wrapped mince pies individually in coloured cellophane and pretty ribbons

theres a nice story about chinese ew year called sam and the lucky money (i think) where the little boy gives all his new year money away to people on the street who have no socks etc.

Could children make a Christingle? lots of symbolism here (The Children's Society has lots of stuff that can help here)

Any use?

We do the 'Shoe Box Appeal' at our school where children bring in things like toiletries, small toys, pants etc from a list which are then put into shoe boxes and labelled and sent off to orphanages in Eastern Europe.

Thats a lovely idea (mince pies..)

This dosen't have to be taught...so I could use the idea of the shoe boxes!

I really wanted to do chineese new year, but my lecturer told me that it's not R.E =(

OHHH LOVELYY!!