Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nappy Changing

Can somebody help me- :( :wacko: I am a nursry teacher in a state school and for the first time we have taken a child in nappies- he can run, dribble a ball, argue and use the mouse (and swtitch off the computer) :(:( etc but is not yet toilet trained- nothing medically wrong with him except born to lazy, busy parents xD . I had initially thought of having a book when each nappy change could eb documented, supervised and signed off but in reality there seems to be so much happening that it is impossible for one member of staff to change the child and for the 2nd member of staff to leave what she was doing to supervise the change and write out the details etc. We are so busy that we just inform each other that .....is being taken for a nappy change.

What do other nusery teachers do in their nurseies? I know that pre-schools change nappies all the time but they tend to have more staff (and younger children) and volunteers on the scene.

:oxD

Also isn't this not changing nappies unsupervisied just to cover the practitioner's back and nothing to do with the child. Surely the fact that we are policed checked be enough to safeguard children???

We dont document nappy changes either, and I'm in a playgroup. We dont have more than 1 member of staff on the 'job' either, as you say the police check should be enough. I merely deligate though :D