Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Daily Structure

i know we have discussed this several times. i am a receptio teacher in a single form entry school with one moderate size room and an outside area.

because i school constraints i feel that i am unable to get going with anything. here is an overview of our week- please feel free to comment. i can't bear the time we are 'tied' up with things!

Monday

9.00-9.45 Hall time (usually use for PE/CREATIVE TYPE WORK)

when dressed! 9.55is we do phonics

but we need to stop at 10.15 to do out snack so the real issue is that this time of 25min ish is too long to keep them focused but too short to set up tables, when they have all their clothes over them, for them to get involved in anything

after break we are ok from 10.45 to 11.45 for lunch

Afternoon fine 1.15-2.45

Tuesday

9.00-9.30:Infant assembly

9.30-10.15: what culd be best here. when they come back i can not expect them to sit and listen again so i let them go off and call small groups. but sometimes this is hard as there has been no introduction and so i feel i explain too much

if they did come back to the carpet then ny the time we had finished i.e. 9.40 we would only have to 10.15- again is this long enough

wednesday

9.0-9.30: each infant class have very valuable support 5 adults for guided reading/phonics activities i love this

but again when they have finished we let them go as they have worked hard. i do use this slot for focused observations

Thursday

9.00-9.30 whole school assembly

friday

9.00-9.30

praise assembly

i just fell that we do not really have time to get started o anything in the mornings i.e. focused times does anyone else feel this or is it just me.

morning focused tasks seem to be

1 guided reading

1 guided writing

1 PSNR

what are other peoples balances