Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Creches Workers Anybody Out There?

Hi everybody

I thought I would start a strand for Creches. I am a creche manager and have been for a few months. I was Day nursery based and in schools. With the new changes be it the registration and exemptions we are putting as much of the EYFS into practice as we can. The girls that work in the creche have been there for years and were very shocked when I started to implement things that I did in nursery. Such as self selection, free flow children doing there own art work, using aprons and gloves for nappy changing etc

I have had to fight to get the changes and pull thing into line with the EYFS of which my younger staff are beginning to understand the reason why and how the creche has gone from a free for all to a lovely place with he children learning as they are playing.

The parents are alot happier and the creche is now really busy. I think that creches should play there part in the child's experiences though it is hard sometimes when you don't get to build up that bond and relationship if the child only comes occasionally.

I love my job as I hatred all th paperwork in nursery's I actually spend at least half of my time playing.

Bluebelle

Edited by Guest

Welcome to the Forum, Bluebelle

What a lovely, positive first post - looking forward to hearing more about you and your work. Wonder how many creche workers are members here?

Maz

hello!

I was at a childminder drop-in at a local CC today and we were chatting about their creche facilities and set-up. I've already recommended they have a look here and now I'll be able to point out your thread to them!

What good timing!

Nona

Hi Bluebell

I work in a creche and I love the sound of what you are doing.

I wonder whether you have any kind of key person system going? We don't, ('because we do things differently because we are a creche') but I would love to look at what the obstacles really are and see if they could be overcome.