Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Tracking Children's Choices

Hi there, I'm new to both the forum and the foundation stage.

Does anyone have a system that they use to monitor the choices the children are making in their self initiated learning? I have made observations but it seems a bit patchy and I think there must be workable ways for the children to record what they have been doing during the day.

Anyone got any suggestions please?

I do know of one nursery that ask the children what they would like to go and play with at the start of the session and record that on a sheet to see any patterns developing - but these children are 3 and 4 and are most are able to communicate verbally.....

Hi Avril and welcome,

In the Highscope approach of plan, do, review, the children learn to record what they are going do in their initial session with their keyworker--sometimes verbally with reference to a selection of activities and later more formally and then it is reviewed against their plans at the end of the session.

Welcome to the Forum, avril!

I went on some training last week by Helen Bilton about outdoor play and she suggested researching how children (and especially adults) move around the outdoor area. Basically its simply a matter of recording exactly where children are at five or ten minute intervals during your free play session. I've been doing it for three days now and I am seeing patterns beginning to observe of where the children choose to be - and which children are flitting around and which are showing clear preferences in their play. I am also noticing which adults are standing by the fence watching, but this is a different matter. :o

I need to design a form to show the results properly (and to help with gathering the evidence!), but so far it has been very useful!

Maz

hello and welcome Avril - sounds interesting Maz!!!! :o