Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Ofsted Inspection

cathrich

Hello all!

I have been a member on this site for a little while now and feel almost addicted!!

I am a qualified teacher who bought a pre-school business last July. The pre-school was VERY 'old school' (e.g. writing books, no free choice of equipment, art activities that were basically done for the parents which all the children HAD to do - get the picture??!!) and I have worked REALLY hard throughout this year trying to update it, although having to tread very carefully at the same time as the 3 previous owners stayed on to work there. I thought Ofsted would have joined us early in Sept as I was a new suitable person but no....until today!

To cut a long story short we were given an 'inadequate' because my first aid certificate ran out last week and I am not re-training until Sept. The 3 ex-owners are leaving at the end of term but theirs ran out at the end of May . I am SO upset....I know that I shouldn't have let mine run out but I just didn't realise the impact it would've had on our inspection.

Anyway...I'm partly trying to warn people not to do something stupid like me but also to let off some steam!! My no drinking in the week ban has been chucked in the bin for today and I look forward to another inspection in 6-12 months time!

Cath x :oxD:(

You must feel so disappointed and certainly deserve that drink!!! After all the hard work you put in you will be heading for much better inspection next time. Sending hugs your way too...

Oh Cath I really feel for you: I had something very similar recently, and the only way I could prevent having no first aider on board was to pay an extra member of staff to come in for certain sessions. Its easy to see how you could overlook something like this when you had so many other fires to fight!