Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help

tommo

Hi and welcome.

I am doing a degree and I know that this has been a hot topic of late in our class. There are a few people on my course who need English and Maths (as they want to do QTS) which are fairly straight forward, however it would seem acquiring science seems to be a major problem. Sorry I can't help, I expect there will be someone around soon who can. I thought I would let you know you are not the only one having this problem

A warm welcome Tommo, :(:( yeh me too, wanted to say you are not alone, I need to get maths and science if I intend to teach, which I do hopefully, if I don't go insane with all the training, pain in the bum isn't it!!

Thanks for raising the query, will watch with irritated interest so as to share any information.

I can do the equivalency for maths at my Uni, but am awaiting science, think I may have to enrol at local college to do the full GCSE course. :oxD

hello and welcome - do whoever your doing your degree with not offer an equivilancy?

Thank's for your welcomes i'm so glad i'm not the only one i thought i was and no can't find any help from where i did the degree but thanks for support

Hi tommo

You can do courses with the ou that are acceptable equivalents I will attach the equivalent doc from the dFES for you I believe that courses that start with an s and are at ungraduate level for the OU are acceptable

Hi,

sorry but am unable to answer your query about equivalency but Im intrigued to know how you are teaching Reception as an 'unqualfied' teacher. I have worked in this area for 14 years, have 3 A levels and 10 GCSE including English, Maths and Science as awell as an FDEd but no one seems to think that I can be anything other that a TA without doing further studies? Just interested?

Betty Boo.