Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

End Of Year Parent Meetings.

catma

I have 39 children and as the only class teacher the expectation is that I will meet all the parents in individual meetings. We have a system where we can timetable our own appointments over a pre determined week, with the late night on the thursday, but even so this will take for ever! I'm thinking of other ways this could be done in the nursery. Any other systems that work well out there?? :D

Hi there Catma. We also have 39 children with 1 teacher. But the nursery nurses have their own family groups and they know their children better than anyone, have the most dealings with their respective parents and are therfore te best people to talk to parents at the end of the year. To allow this to happen, we have ours in open afternoons, taking one group on each of 3 days. This is well attended as our parenst (many of whom dont work) find it easier to attend than they would if it was an evening. As a teacher, I attend the formal 'parents evening' and speak to those who are not able to come during the day- but this is rarely more than 6-8. I am also available if parents want to speak to me rather than one of my colleagues. We find that this works really well, and we get a better response than if we had one parents evening for them all to come.

To add, in a previous school where we had more working parents, we asked the staff to stay behind in the evening, and gave them the time off in lieu. This didnt pose any problems either.

Over the years we have tried many different ways, while the children are having an end of session story parents return early for a 15mins consultation, takes quite a while to get through everyone but I see the new parents at the start of term and those who are leaving at the end.