Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Deputy Head Teacher

I am going to be moving from year six to start a foudnation stage unit in September. We currently have a nursery class and a reception class but due to falling roles will need to have one unit. I need any information anyone can offer on running a unit please; planning, assessing, grouping, differentiation etc.

All contributions will be accepted with greatful thanks. I have been a nursery nurse and have some ideas, but things have changed dramatically since then.

Hi Charlie37

Just wanted to say welcome to the forum. Wow, what a change for you!! How are you feeling about it all-excited and nervous at the same time I bet!

I don't know if you have found any of the discussions already on the site but there are some ideas which you can find here.

Good luck with it all and let us know how you are getting on. And, of course, if you need to know anything just ask-I'm sure somebody will be able to come up with ideas for you.

Linda

Hi Charlie 37 & welcome,

how exciting! but a big move for you so hope you don't suffer too much "culture shock".

Are you the deputy head too?

If you were NNEB trained I don't think you'll have too much trouble, it will all come back to you and I think the wheel is spinning full circle. So you may find you're coming back to where you went out depending on the time scale, of course.

Keep asking the questions! I'm not sure that there are actually many of us involved in FS units, but others are asking questions too. I quite fancy that challenge but its not the way forward here at the moment.

Good luck.

I would: Find out who your early years advisory team are, and get in touch with them. Ask them if they have any schools they know of who are working well, not necessarily as a unit. Ask your head for time to visit, this is professional development support. Are you having a performance management meeting before the end of term? Maybe it could be within this.