Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Microteaching

Hi all i am new on here. I am currently studying BA in early childhood studies, have completed previous to that the foundation degree in early years and education. For one of my modules we have to do a 10 minute microteaching. We are going to get assessed by tutor, and peer group. I am really struggling as to what to do? Can anyone think of a good topic for a 10 minute microteaching session please? It can be on anything- child related or not is personal choice, but i am just really struggling for ideas.

Any suggestions be great.

Thank you

Dee

x x

Hi

welcome from me also will think on about possible subjects .

Andreamay Microteaching is a teaching method whereby the teacher reviews a videotape of the lesson after each session, in order to conduct a "post-mortem". Teachers find out what has worked, which aspects have fallen short, and what needs to be done to enhance their teaching technique. Invented in the mid-1960's at Stanford University by Dr. Dwight Allen, micro-teaching has been used with success for several decades now, as a way to help teachers acquire and hone new skills.

In the original process, a teacher was asked to prepare a short lesson (usually 20 minutes) for a small group of learners who may not have been her own students. This was videotaped, using VHS. After the lesson, the teacher, teaching colleagues, a master teacher and the students together viewed the videotape and commented on what they saw happening, referencing the teacher's learning objectives. Seeing the video and getting comments from colleagues and students provided teachers with an often intense "under the microscope" view of their teaching.

Hi thank you guys, really appreciate your help.

I am not to present it to children but to my peer group from my course and to lecturers

Dee

x x

Hi and thanks Dublinbay! Yes seems like everyone really friendly and supportive on here. Think i have come to the right place!

Dee

x x