Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Focus Activity Sheet

I have just finished putting together a focus activity sheet as part of my DPP assignment. Thought I would share it and I would welcome any comments as I'm new to this planning thing and I'm not sure whether I'm getting it right.

Sally

Blank_Focus_Plan.xls

Looks good to me too - the only suggestion I would make is that you might want to refer to "stepping stones" instead of or as well as the ELGs, depending on what is appropriate for your group of children -remember that the ELGs are targets for the end of reception rather than whilst children are in pre-school settings. Just a thought! :o

As I'm working to stepping stones it would probably be better to refer to them and not ELGs. Thanks for that Wolfie. Does planning get easier with practice? I've found it really hard going - for my DPP I have to produce 5 focus activity plans and a medium term plan. When I started, my tutor told us to pick a topic and plan around it but I found that approach too restricting as it was hard to incorporate individual chidren's interests or incidental learning. My tutor does not agree with me and has told me that I should plan around a topic to make life easier. As I've read from others on the forum, my understanding is that Ofsted wants settings to move away from 'topics' and plan more flexibly. What is a poor student to do?

Sally

I know I had the same problem with my planning module for my DPP.

After lots of e-mails with my tutor, I was advised to submit a "fake plan" for my assignment, but to carry on my planning at pre-school as I normally do.

It was "pants" took me ages and I did feel a bit of a fraud - but my fake plan that I never used got an "A" - so someone liked it.

And Ofsted liked my planning when we were visited in March.