Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Toilet training

Good evening,

HELP!!!!!

I am new to Nursery and all this toilet training stuff and I am hoping that you will be able to share your knowledge and experience with me.

I have a three year old that has just started with us doing five mornings a week. He is in pull ups and although he is dry, he soils every morning.

I have read that we shouldn't be constantly asking if they need to go to the toilet as this inhibits developing the feeling of needing to go to the toilet. However, what strategies would you suggest that we can put into place to help and support this child.

I am thinking that we should be checking him every so often and occasionally asking if he needs to go to the toilet. However, I am totally in the dark and would welcome any advice or strategies.

Many thanks

Mel C

https://www.eric.org.uk/guides-to-childrens-bowel-and-bladder-problems

This is a good site for this type of thing.

As I return to pre-school, I am hoping that a boy due to turn 4 in October has managed to become potty trained during the summer hols, which his parents assured me they would be putting their mind to! Sometimes he would have a dirty nappy 3 times in a morning.. He appears to be unaware of any feeling or urge to go, and I can't even get him to tell me when he had done a dirty nappy, he is so unaware, it would seem.

He has a few other sensory problems, and he has a chaotic home life, inasmuch, that he has a few transitions per day after he leaves us when he is looked after by different members of his extended family while both parents work days and nights.

Edited by Panders
  • Like 1

ah welcome to the world of toilet training....such joy!!

Top tips.....

don't ask if he would like to go the toilet! I would suggest you say something like go and have a try on the toilet and then we will do xxxx. This way there is a motivation to doing it...most boys when asked will say they don't need to go even when they are bursting!