Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

How Many Teacher Posts........

beth1

I have been on my weekly trawl through the council jobs in the area where I live. xD Well in one area there are no less than 5 reception teacher's posts going plus 4 key stage 1 posts. :(:( Oh I wish I was a teacher trained in Foundation/Key Stage 1, theres more going than nursery nursing at the moment. :wacko: Plus that similar amount to this time last year! xD

Oh well this as got me thinking that maybe I should do my teaching degree top up after the Foundation Degree instead of doing the Early Year Professional Status. :( I am having an assessment for my English and Maths Tuesday morning and to gain more information on what equlivents I need for different courses, :o I will ask about the GCSE equlivents for QTS.

Beth

I really don't want to put you off Beth but for everyone of those posts there will be dozens of unemployed teachers. Teacher's leaving posts have to hand their notice in by the the 31st of May that is why you see jobs advertised at this time of year.

When i was young and nieve i thought about teaching (all those lovely holidays and short days) i have now come to realise through working closely with a lot of very dedicated teachers that the hours are long, the stress levels are manic and the pressure is worse that been in a steam press and there are a lot of expereinced teachers out there searching for work. without offending anyone I will definately be sticking to NN & EYPS where the value is still on care and play without worrying about stats e.t.c. I take my hat off to all you teachers out there. Shelley

Well thanks for the advice interesting to know. :o I think I will stick to the BA (Hons) Early Childhood then EYPs as I only need a maths equivlent course. xD Plus I already have my English sorted out, which I can tell prospective employers that I meet half of the EYPs course.

Beth