Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Transition From Nursery To Reception

I am in my second year of teaching in reception, and have just found out that I will be here again next year. This and all the transition between y1 and reception stuff that my school is finally now beginning to do has made me very aware that we do very little to ease transition into our reception classes (from either our own nursery that feeds about half our places, or any other nurserys). We do have a parents meeting in July and individual meetings with parent and child in September before they start.

I was wondering what everyone else does?

We feed from a Nursery school and a few children come from other nurseries.

I send a ltter out to parents explaining the transition routine and explaining what will be happening.

The nursery visit for an hour once a week in the 3 weeks leading up to the end of term, they bring over the children that will be starting with us (we are lucky we are only 200 yards away) and they stay for a small group session, a story and a bit of CIP with the existing Reception class or in December with their new classmates. That way they are in their new setting but they also have an existing member of their staff with them. Children who come from other settings are brought in by their parents. The nursery have one member of staff that is a link with each school.

The parents are invited to a new parents evening meeting, without children if possible, where the head and I meet them and do a little presentation (got it off pat now!) about the way the school works, what to expect, curriculum, uniform, routines etc. We answer any questions then about anything they want to ask. My TA and cover assistant is coming this year, as is the new deputy so that he knows what to do when he eventually becomes a head!