Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Rent Rise

I've just had a bombshell thrown at me today.

My rent is £10 an HOUR and the church have just told me that because I get a 50% discount!!!!!! they can't afford to give it to me any longer.

So over the next 4 years they will phase it out. From September my rent will be going up to £12.00 an Hour

It might not seem alot put that way but its going from £300 a week to £350. From £1200 a month to £1400

I knew that they were going to do a re-organisation of the church and did think we would be the ones to be given the most problems, I did think we would have an increase but didn't realise how much they wanted us gone!!!!!!

Oh well something I suppose will come up :(xD:o

Hi

i am not an expert in this and I am sure you have looked in to the legal side with your lease, is there anyway you can access sustainability funding through your LA. This is really disheartening for you especially when you feel they want you out. Hope all works out well.

Hi Steph

I'm no expert on sustainability funding (actually know nothing at all!) but you have my sympathy - lots of it!

If it's any consolation, they've put our rent up by 75% in the last year and we're a Church group, using their Church hall. As with your place, we are their main source of income. The saying 'bite the hand that feeds them' springs to mind. When I was discussing this with the financial advisor from the Borough, (I'm sure you know him!) he questioned who they could let the hall to on such a regular basis as most halls are let out in the evenings. So maybe if they thought that they had pushed you too far and there was a possibilty that their main source of income could disappear, then they might have a little re-think. It would be a huge hassle for them to have to find that level of income by advertising and it wouldn't be guaranteed like yours is.