Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Childminders And Users Of Childminders

I haven't put my fees up since 2004 and have realised that I am charging much less than anyone else in my area now! I know it doesn't count in the CM world but I have over 20 years experience in childcare and am level 5 and feel a bit put out that new mums with no experience are getting more than me! Well at least I'm honest!!

I know our preschool wages increase by 2.5% each year but it harldy seems worth it on the amount I charge in fees!

Just wondered how others did it....

I am a childminder in Cambridgeshire too. I set my price by working out my costs and how much I expect to earn when I first started. I also checked what others were charging including the local nurseries as we offer a much better ratio 1:3 than their 1:8 for 3 and 4 year olds.

I use NCMA contracts with have an annual review date. I usually put my fees up by 5% each year, no parents have ever complained about this so far.

I think if we do not value our service, no one else will.

Good Luck in putting up your fees.

I'm not a childminder but used to run my own nursery and had a policy of putting up fees at the same time every year, just to keep up with rising costs - I put this information in my welcome pack so that the increase was never an unwelcome surprise to parents..... no-one ever complained about it when it happened.

My fees are set to be just slightly lower than the two local nurseries, but I really don't think the parents I have choose me cos I'm cheaper! I put my fees up last year by 30p an hour, so this year I'm not putting them up, then will have an increase next year of about 5%. I think an increase in line with inflation is only fair anyway. Hope that helps.