Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Introducing A Keyworker System

Guest Wolfie

I want to introduce a keyworker system into a 2-5s room in a nursery where there is basically no effective teamwork, observations, assessments, record keeping, etc.etc. at present. :oxD:(

I've got plenty of experience of working with these systems, have got policies, etc. but need some top tips on selling the idea to the staff in the first place! Annything that means extra work is likely to met with a "Kev n Perry" gesture if you know what I mean! :D Obviously this system HAS to be introduced but I want to make the road as non-rocky as possible!!! :)

How about saying that it is alot better for one person to deal with each family and child rather than mixed messages.

Also it is a good selling point with ofsted!!!!

Tell them that OFSTED look on keyworker systems as good practice.

We have keyworkers and we feel the benefits are that parents and children know there is one person who will be there every day their child attends that they can speak to. We all work with all of the children but this is someone special they can relate to. It's nice to know you are a special person in a child's life!

Linda

Hi Wolfie! Seeing as you've got lots of experience and info for key workers would you be willing to share? Although I have a keyworker system in place I feel it is not done properly. Any advise would be wonderful.

Without breaching any confidentiality, I've already got Ofsted on my side...I've been banging my head against a brick wall for the last twelve months trying to introduce things, then Ofsted came last week and I found myself begging the inspectors to come down hard on the setting so that I'd finally got some weight behing my argument!