Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Year 3, Learning And Play

hi everyone,

i have to do an essay titled "once children reach year three the emphasis should be on learning and not on play". can any one provide me with any information or policies/books, etc that would be helpful. not sure where to start.

thanks x rosie x

thankyou. im a trainee teacher, focusing on early years and have found that play is so important and also believe it is vital for older children but just need to search for information that can help me argue it. thanks x x x

Gosh, what a pity you cant use every day evidence. Right now my 14 yr old is in the garden 'playing' in the snow and my 16 yr old along with 14 friends is in the park, also 'playing'.

Good luck with your studies :D

Pyjamer top, summer trousers and school shoes, but hey, he likes being individual :o

post-3139-1170933900_thumb.jpg

Gosh I am 30, play most days for my job and learn more and more each day. When we get something new at home I always play around with it and never read instructions.

Rea,

your son look like he's having a brilliant time in the snow. Its hardly settled where I live but im sure my 12 year old would love to be out there playing in the snow. When we as adults think back to happy childhood memories they are often outdoor experiences related to play. Mine is playing out in the street till late (7.30pm seemed like midnight at the time) playing tig, elastic or curbie. Those were the days.

I know tig and elastics but curbie? :o It rings a bell, but cant remember it. :D

When I was 14/15 I can firmly remember crawling through the long grass on the fields opposite our house just before haymaking , playing army with friends. When the hay was baled we moved the bales around to make dens and carried on playimg army. And I was out then till 10 O Clock :D

Love the picture Rea. Ah those were the days.... ony a sprinkling of snow here, like a dust of icing sugar xD