Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nursery Drama

Hi, I am currently in charge of rpoducing and developing a Drama syllabus for Nursery pupils and am having problems finding material, books and general ideas that might work. I am a secondary school teacher so its difficult for me to know what will work as well at that age. Can anyone help?

Thank you so much.

Jakki

Take a traditional story, i.e. 3 billy goats gruff add a few songs you can all sing together, make them up if you can't find any to fit using a traditional tune, we sing three billy goats want to cross the bridge to "What shall we do to a drunken sailor" use the most confident children as the main characters, have lots of understudies to jump in at the last moment have lots of singing flowers, trees and rabbits have some dancing rain clouds. Then have your video ready and earn your class £200 from "TV You've been framed"

Welcome to the site, Jakki.

We went through a similar learning curve at our setting last year, when I wanted to look into drama for pre-school children. I want to give my reply some more thought, so I won't post too much here, now. I'll have some books to recommend shortly, too.

To sum up, I think drama can be all of these things:

* role play

* making up stories with props and puppets

* linked with music and/or movement

* linked to familiar books, where the children take on the characters' roles, or use the characters from the book in a new adventure.

There is a huge difference between allowing the children to create their own drama, and providing a more formal, planned activity.

That's my short answer ( :o ) but I'll get back to you over the next day or two with some detailed stuff. :D