Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Qualifications Needed

HIYA!!!!!!!

I'm currently studying for a level 3 dce. I've been looking for jobs in the local rag and when i see them advertised all they seem to ask for is NVQ Level three Early Years & Education or Btec. I was advised, rightly or wrongly, that an NVQ 3 is a more senior qualification to the DCE3. This doesn't seem right to me as the NVQ3 only takes 12-15 months and one day in college, one in placement, whereas my DCE takes 2 years ,2 days placement and 3 days college a week, and is followed by an exam. Also what do any employers out there think about it, who would you be most likely to employ, NVQ3, BTec3 or DCE3?

Hi Dcechez and all,

As Hali says, look at other posts on qualifications.

Employers, if they have any sense, must look at experience as well as qualifications. This is my personal opinion.

I am relatively new to formal EY training, and what I am doing is probably one of the only ways forward for me.

However, some of the EY professionals who have been doing our job, and better, for many years are being told that their qualifications are no longer valid, even though they have kept themselves up-to-date.

The EY sector is in danger of losing its best asset if there is no way for 'qualified' and experienced practitioners to be recognised.

The EY sector could not function if it was without these people.

Good luck in your course,

Diane.

Hi Dcechez -

There's been a lot of confusion generally about qualifications (not caused by practitioners it has to be said, but by the various involved bodies - Ofsted, QCA, CACHE etc), and consequently, as Hali and Diane have mentioned, lots of discussions. Here's a link through to a couple of recent ones:

NNEBs et al

Foundation Degrees and other qualifications

More stuff!

If you want to see more, just do a search which looks at all categories with Any Date selected, for qualifications. :)

Guest rhodessj

Hi All