Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Foundation Stage Manager

Guest hollyc

Guest hollyc

Would really appreciate some responses from people who are foundation stage managers or co-ordinators. Was promoted to FS manager at my school in september as the previous manager retired. I work at a school with 2 reception classes of 25 children, we don't have a nursery. I am in my third year of teaching and have been teaching reception for 2 years, so it is still quite new. I am very confident with what I am doing in the classroom, but feel slightly unsure if I'm doing enough as the FS manager! have been asked by my head to set up a co-ordinator file (all co-ordinators have been asked to do this) and he has given me some guidelines as to what ot should contain. Was wondering what sort of information other FS managers kept? we will proboably be getting and ofsted next year so really wnat to make sure we are on track before that, especially as the Leadership and management of the Foundation Stage is now a seperate part of the inspection.

Any help greatly appreciated

HI holly

Iam the foundation stage/ reception coordinator in my school.

We also are working on coordinator files and the first thing I need to do is to establish whether or not my head wants a FS policy. We have had mixed messages about what is required and I must pin her down on this and sort it if we do.

We have 3 classes each with 30 children, a NN & a part time Lsa. Plus SEN support for named children so quite a large staff to coordinate and 1 is causing me mega grief at the moment. I have 1pm each week as release time and need to get into the classrooms to get to know the children and see the staff working together before profiles loom even larger!

My manangement role needs to be redefined for me too as I keep finding myself uncertain of exactly what power or influence I actually have.

I am more than willing to converse with you and if we can help one another thta would be great.

Susan