Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Target Setting

Hi,

Never actually posted a topic on here yet, but have been enjoying the benefit of lots of your ideas and advice. Which I am trully grateful for!!! Have you any ideas on the best way to set targets?

This is probably going to sound very long winded but I feel as though I need to make you aware of the settings arrangements, etc. Before I ask for your advice/ideas.

I'm a Nursery teacher in a Foundation Unit we take 30 nursery children for morning or afternoon sessions and we have two Reception classes of 28 children. 1 of the Reception classes has 7Y1 SEN children as well as a number of children who require some sort of support - be it speech and language, or behaviour.

We also have a private company providing wrap around within the Nursery.

All in all there are myself and 2TAs in the Nursery part, with a teacher & part-time TAs attached to each class. we also have 1 classroom assisstant who supports 2.5 times of the week, mainly in reception.

We have rigorous planning in place and are continually recording & assessing. We follow the same medium term plans and have devised a fortnightly activity plan to incorporate all the children and give both Nursery & reception children opportunities to explore and consolidate their learning.

Please help

Hi Mrs D and welcome.

Im not sure I can help either. I always think we should have goal attainment as targets so its a question of assessing where the children are and moving them on in small attainable steps but you know that!

Are you looking for ways to display targets? You could have a board with general learning objectives.

If you are setting targets, I think I would be trying to group the children and give them next steps as you do when writing your IEPs? For you SN children their IEPs will dictate their targets.

Hi Mrs D welcome to the forum and i hope you enjoy time well spent here.