Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Routes Towards Qts

Hi everyone

As some of you know I am a preschool manager, and I co-own and co-manage my preschool with my friend. With all the emphasis on early years managers having a relevant degree-level qualification I am currently considering my options (as lots of us are) for further training.

I have a Maths degree so it seems to make more sense for me to do a PGCE for FS/KS1 rather than the Foundation degree as it opens up more options for me career-wise. However I live in Southampton and haven't found anywhere locally that does a Foundation/KS1 PGCE (Southampton and Winchester only offer KS1/KS2).

Can anyone suggest any other routes to PGCE that may be possible or know of any Early years PGCE courses within commuting distance of Southampton. Is it possible to do Primary (3-7) PGCE by distance learning?

Or does anyone have any other suggestions?

Carolyn

Hi Carolyn. My geography isnt great but are Portmouth or Chichester anywhere near you?

If not have you considered the GTP or SCITT route into teaching. In both cases you would have to work full time in a school for a year which would mean making alternative arrnagments for your pre school. You could check out what provision there is in your LA by contacting you LA education division or by going through a search at the TDA (teacher development agency). You would need to have GCSE english and science (if you were born after 1979), obviously the maths wouldnt be a problem for you.

Im not aware of an early years PGCE by distance, the OU does one but I think its just secondary. The alternative is to widen your location bearing in mind that although there would be travel involved for the college work, once on a placement, most places will accomodate you nearer to home. The uni I am a school based tutor for, places people in schools up to 50 mile away if they just happen to live there!!