Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Aaaaagh!

Okay so I'm a newbie on here with a grand total of 8 posts to my name, but I feel confident that you'll read the following rant, and ooh and ah in the appropriate places to make me feel better (please do)! You seem a lovely bunch!

I'm in a nursery with two members of staff who have been working in said nursery for AGES. By AGES I mean the best part of 25 years.

This experience is invaluable and don't get me wrong they are lovely women and good at their jobs. But...

...they are both so stuck in their ways, its unbelievable. I've been there for four years and still feel like the new girl. I often hear the comment 'well we've always done it like this', which quite frankly drives me up the wall and towards a large vodka.

The biggest problem is they feel that they are so accepting of change when they really aren't. I have to push and push to get 'new' ideas across. Sometimes they are implemented and months later are still described as 'new'!! :o

I've myself to blame in some ways as I've tolerated their attitude for so long without politely saying anything (what??) and now is really starting to bug me.

I know that there must be others working with similar attitudes, can't imagine for one minute that its restricted to the school I'm in! What do you do? How can I get my opinions heard without being rude or hurtful?

Its not helped that the head knows what they are like but does nothing to ease the situation. He's a bit of a chocolate tea-pot when it comes to early years, seeing as he's secondary trained and stuck in his own ways!!