Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Timetables

Miss Hilton

I have been teaching in Early Years for 10 years, my Reception class are working significantly below plus 5 EHCP children. Listening and attention is really poor, carpet times are challenging, even just 5 minutes for the register is really hard-work. I haven’t had a year like this, though we are use to low starting points. I am wondering if anyone has different timetables to share to see if I can try something new. 

Hi, I'm in preschool, so can't help with timetables. However,  I just wanted add our last cohort that just moved up to reception where the worst year ever!  Personally I do put it down to Covid with this age group and the lack of social interactions lack of groups at 12-24th months.    We have already noticed the difference with our this year's group and they are already far more settled with listening and attention (and tidying up)- but this age group only really missed 6-9 mths groups.

I hope things settle with you, but I will be honest it was the year that almost cracked our staff into changing careers!

On 23/09/2023 at 10:15, louby loo said:

We have already noticed the difference with our this year's group and they are already far more settled with listening and attention (and tidying up)- but this age group only really missed 6-9 mths 

wish we could say the same Louby, we have so many unsettled this time, hopefully they’ll settle soon, but the group that concern me more are the rising 3’s, I have never (and that’s a lot of never) known such a stubborn group, point blank refusing to do anything they’re asked to do, they won’t join groups, or attempt to do anything for themselves and there is just no blackmailing coaxing or cajoling them anymore 😔 

No idea how/why my reply is in the quote box louby 🤷‍♀️