Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Communication Matters

I'm a student who is doing some research on childhood communication and I am interested in anything about the new Sure Start Communication Matters training.If you have been on any training, or are preparing training for the modules I would be very interested in what you think about them.

I don't think many will have necessarily heard of these materials as they are primarily aimed at lea's for training purposes and are not being distributed on demand. Your La will have been given a few copies but even we have to copy further if we want to share with other teams. Basically it is training provision produced by Prof Nigel Hall (forget which uni, Manchester?) which focuses on the key aspects of pathways to communication. There are three modules, one focuses on language development, one focuses on different pathways to communication and the other I forget right now. They consist of training manuals and cd's that have the powerpoints and video clips. Most LEA's will be using these materials during the next few years as they are intended to form part of our training packages. There are different ways they can be used and there is talk of them also being accredited but again this will depend on how Leas disseminate the materials as the gap tasks will form part of that process and will ivolve the need for external moderation. At the last LA regional conference this was still being worked out ata regional level and we didn't get very clear info about this bit. We are currently discussing this as a full EYs team as it will involve both the EYATs and the FS consultants, with possible input from other teams. Sections can be used and adapted to fit in with other trainings as I have done this term, in existing training packages.