Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

The Changing Role Of The Nursery Nurse

I am studying for my HNC and have chosen the changing role as my research assignment, but an struggling with books, any ideas.

I would also appreciate any comments on our role, the workload and wages, so I can build up an idea off what goes on around the country. I am of the feeling that planning and paperwork are getting too much without time to do it. Does anyone have non-contact time for this?

I would be grateful for any comments.

Hi Lisa -

Welcome to the forum and thanks for posting! :D

I'll leave the response to your question to people more experienced than me, but good luck with the HNC, and I'd be interested in hearing the results of your research!

Best wishes,

Steve.

Hi Lisa,

It sounds like an interesting subject you are researching there. I am also doing a HNC in childhood studies.

Would you be interested in a copy of my job description and if you have done a questionnaire i would be happy to answer it.

Let me know by e-mail if I can help. :o

• 1 month later...
Guest bevbenyon

Hi Lisa,

good luck with the research. I've worked as an NNEB since 1987 and am just about to start my final part of a degree in Early Childhood Studies. I started this because I felt there was a lack of opportunity for NNEB to gain extra qualifications and gain promotion,. so decided to qualify as a teacher. I'm pleased to say that within the last few years there seems to have been a large increase in the routes available to people who wish to pursue extra qualifications and with the new 'Higher level teaching assistant' role coming into being I feel there will be more opportunities. There is no doubt that the role of Nursery Nurses is changing quite radically, unfortunatley as yet the pay does not reflect this!! (oops.think I'm on my soap box!)