Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Limitations Of Curriculum Guidance For Fs

=Topic: Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage... what limitations does this provide? please help!!

I am a nursery nurse training on a HND Early Childhood studies course and i'm havingg touble with one of my assignments.

Has anybody got any ideas. I need to evaluate some more strengths and weaknesses of the Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stafe and i've run out of ideas. I need more ideas to get that top grade as i am in the middle between a merit/distinction? I've made links between theory and the Curriculum need to say the strengths of the document and weaknesses.

Please can anyone help??

Emma xXx

Just off the top of my head, maybe you could look at why they are having a re-write of the CGFS- to become the Early Years Foundation Curriculum.

Look at the proposed changes to give you a clue as to what they think hasn't worked.

They have changed the name from mathematics to problem solving and something else ( not got it to hand).

Also they are integrating BTTM and Regulatory standards and the 5 outcomes from Every Child Matters with CGFS.

Also to consider, is whether the requirements of the current CGFS is able to be implemented in every type of early years setting, including childminders, private, voluntary, and maintained sectors, to the same standards.

The EPPE research ( I think) has evaluated that CGFS is better accomplished if qualified teachers or graduates lead the implementation of it.

Hope this gives food for thought.