Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

How to interpret EYFS profile statements - maths

Hi. I'm new to FS1. I moved in September from KS1. It's been a steep learning curve but I'm loving it.

Getting to grips with the EYFS profile has been one of my biggest jobs & I often struggle understanding what is actually meant by some of the statements and what that would actually look like in a child. I work with 2 great Nursery Nurses. We all tend to have different opinions of what some statements mean. We are in desperate need of some moderation as a Key Stage but as always time is short in school. I think some of us are too harsh and others ticking off statements too easily (i'm the highlighter happy one of the team).

To cut a long story short could someone please give me some examples of things you would be looking for to assess the following statements (more may follow if you spoil me with lots of wonderful advice but I am focusing on maths to start with) I need to collect different opinions to gauge how tough or free we are being:

- 22-36 creates & experiments with symbols & marks representing ideas of numbers

- 30-50 beginning to represent numbers using fingers, marks on paper or pictures.

In my head the 2nd could be like tally marks when taking orders in cafe role play??? Is that too advanced? (KS1 head on here!) A girl made a reward chart for her mum and drew 10 circles to represent smiley faces - she couldn't accurately count them but told me what they were.

I'm fine with the fingers one, that happens all the time in our Nursery.

Hope I am not showing myself up to be completely incompetent with this post???