Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

What Do I Do

I'm a nursery nurse and I work in a school nursery I have over 10 years experience most of my experience was gained in a school environment, I have worked with a variety of fantastic, highly experience teachers who have taught me a lot and made me better at my job.

But all that changed at the begining of this term when a new teacher came in to the nursery, fantastic I thought new ideas and enthusiasum but sadly it's not like that and I don't know what to do, this teacher seems to have a very limited understanding of young children and how they learn (she isn't an NQT but is working towards QTS)

It seems to me she came to the nursery because she thinks it's a easy ride!

She is so disorganised, I know some people find it hard to get organised but it's to the point where there is no planning to follow because she hasn't got round to doing it we don't have planning meetings so half the time I don't know what I'm supposed to be doing, She has changed the environment not to improve it for the children but because she dosen't like mess!

This has included taking away the construction area (now we have a group of boys who spend their time running around rather than focused on a task) She dosn't allow the children to have dressing up clothes she wants to get rid of the home corner all together!!

She does no or very little assessment leaves that all to us but gives us no guidence on which focus and which children to assess she dosen't plan for assesment or plan targets for children to work on she dosen't plan!!