Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

EYT trainee & SEN

Salus

Hi all,

We have a 3 year old who has autism (as i was told when i joined). But after speaking to his key worker and the manager i've learnt that he hasn't been given a formal diagnosis yet as they are still "doing tests" and they are taking forever. He has had a speech therapist visit and an occupational therapist was supposed to come and observe him but they didn't show up. Our area SENCO advises us regarding his IEP's,

I feel really stumped. What else can we/I do to help this child? I am an EYT trainee and part of my role is to understand how certain factors can inhibit children's learning &development and also to support children with special needs, but if we don't know what exactly his needs are how are we to support him? I have suggested using visual aids but his keyworker told me the SENCO said to stop using that method now.

What can we do in the meantime?

We have had a child for nearly 2 years - and they have no diagnosis, mum saw the paed last week and further tests are required. What I'm trying to say is would a formal diagnosis change what you are doing for him. All we can do for our little chap is observe,observe, observe and see what areas he is struggling in, what can we do to help and how to move forwards with him.

Thank you for your replies.