Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

makaton again!

sorry i have 3 children using makaton at present and one of them is really into animals......he is testing my knowledge!! does anyone know the sign for

flamingo

giraffe and octopus

also am i right in thinking most birds are the same sign but you use more fingers depending on size...or do they have their own signs?

Oh and is there a sign for animals as a collective noun?

thank you ^_^

If a speech and language therapist has recommended that the children use Makaton, they should be able to help you with specific signs and possibly training. In my experience, this has usually needed some prompting from parents, due to the huge caseloads most speech and language therapists carry.

When I worked as an Area SENCO, we had copies of all the Makaton signs so we could demonstrate individual signs when needed, have you asked your early years consultants? (If you have any left!)

The link below takes you to the Makaton website where you can download the list of animals in the animal, transport and vehicle book. I can't seem flamingo there but "animals" are listed. although it's separated into farm, genera, pet, wild and zoo which could get very completed. Maybe you could order a copy from the library.

http://www.makaton.org/shop/shopping/browseStore/Animals-Transport-Vehicles

ICAN have a free helpline that may help:

I CAN Help Enquiry Service

Call 020 7843 2544 to arrange a free phone call from one of our speech and language therapists through the I CAN Help Enquiry Service or you can email your questions to help@ican.org.uk

We can help explain any aspect of children's talking and communication development that you may be concerned about.