Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Christian Pre-schools

We are a pre-school attached to a church, with very strong Christian ethos. Are we a dying breed??? Seldom do I meet someone from a similar setting as ours and it would be great to hear from you, and maybe share some good ideas, good news, good practice etc.

Here's hoping and praying!

Hi LJW .... your prayers have been answered! :) Well maybe not, as I'm no expert on this!

I run a Pre-school, with a strong Christian ethos. We run from the Church hall, which is just round the corner from the church. The vicar is our chairman, and 3 others on the committee have strong links with the church.

Most of our children live in the 'parish' - and although some are christened at the church, I'm not sure how many of the families go to church (none of my business really!) I think that the clergy see some of our children as their future Sunday school children. Some parents definately do like the association with the church and they fully support us celebrating Harvest Festival (take the children up to the church);Nativity play (clergy come to our hall and we have a sort of adult 'service' before the play, while the children are getting ready)/ Easter etc. (make a garden display for the church) Obviously we do the other festivals too like Divali/Chinese New Year and will probably do Hannukah this year - although it is harder to celebrate festivals that the children cannot identify with or do not come into contact with. I would say that most of the children are C of E with a few R.C and I have no children with ESL/or are of a non christian denomination.

We do say a prayer everyday to which the children respond well, but I always find that introducing the concept of Jesus or God very difficult as the children are so young. That's just me though, someone else might find it easier (I need more practice!) Easter I find REALLY hard !