Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Student teacher observation and feedback

Hi,

I currently have a GTP student in my Nursery Class. She is planning and teaching the morning session. We have a long session which is purely CI so in essence there is nothing in terms on planning apart from enhancements and individual 'next steps'. She wants me to observe her during our CI session but I'm not sure how to fill in the form. It is clearly designed for use higher up the school and includes a tick-list of points such as "lesson follows a structured format", "plenary used well to review learning", "objectives clearly outlined at beginning of lesson", "lesson has clear beginning" etc all which does not lend itselfs to CI 'teaching'. Has anyone had any experiences of having GTP students in their class being observed during CI learning time?

Thanks

Green Hippo x

I'm not an expert on the GTP route but does the trainee have a supporting university? Was wondering if they might have a variety of forms for different key stage training for thei PGCE students if so. I know my university had separate paperwork for the early years PGCE and the general primary one for this very reason.

Sorry to keep asking but does anyone have any experiences of being observed during a CI session (e.g. at a time when no focused activities are going on but where all adults are involved in supporting children in their CI play?) - what did you show in terms of planning?

Thanks

Green Hippo x