Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Pulling my hair out - and looking for reassurance

Please, please honest feedback required! It's going to be a long post, sorry in advance.

Not sure where to start, I have been managing a Pre-school since feb 2011, in march 2012 we managed an ofsted rating of good. 2 of our areas to improve was our partnership with other providers (namely our partnership with the school- we rent our premises from them) we have worked very hard on this and now whilst not perfect has improved two fold.

another area was our profiles, which try and try as I might is still sadly lacking.

I have been running basically without a committee for some time and I am struggling to be in ratio, a key person, safe guarding person, administrator, treasurer, basically feel I run the setting on my own. We have also extended from part days to full days taken on breakfast club and after school club on behalf of our school plus several other schools, financially we struggle as numbers are very low as we are a very rural area.

In December I was very ill and had to take a month off and have struggled to get back in the swing of things and basically feel very unsupported by my staff. I was struggling also with planning and on my return in jan asked my two staff members to take on planning, they agreed did a week but when I questioned the planning, they decided they needed further training. Which is fine but difficult to organise when I work 8-6 and they work split shifts.

In January I had a safeguarding complaint with regards to one of the staff members which also tied up a lot of time with regards to investigation, law call and disciplinary action.

I have also had numerous visits to doctors and nurses plus my own two children to look after homework etc.