Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Key Person Question's.

Hi Everyone

I'm currently studying my HND in Childhood Practice which is a college based management qualification for the Early Years and as part of my qualification I have to implement a change within a Nursery Setting.

Now my proposed change is to implement the “Island of Intimacy” and Personal Key Care routines within a 2’s room in a privately run nursery.

Being a Scottish nursery, there is a Key Worker system in place but its not as detailed or in-depth as a EYFS nursery as the Key Person approach is not a mandatory requirement of the Scottish frameworks. So they do the paperwork but have a relationship with all children in the room.

I basically want the staff to have more time with their Key Group of children though them carrying out personal care and having a time during the day where they can spend 1-2-1 time with their key children doing something that specifically interests their key children, (called the island of intimacy by Goldschmied) the hope is observations will become more focused and detailed with social and emotional support being offered to the children by their Key Person and not just a random member of staff.

My question to you all is, what have you found to be the pro’s and con’s of this approach, both the Key Person and the Island of Intimacy if you apply it??

I’ve read and researched loads but nothing is going to be more beneficial than experiences from individuals who either carry out this role daily or support/manage practitioners.

I will be using the information gained to give an insight into how other nurseries implement the approach and how it works, but will omit all be it forum names from the transcript before submission to maintain confidentiality.

Really look forward to your views on this, and thank you in advance for taking the time to read this!! :D

Welcome to the forum, funkyduckling, and thanks for making your first post :1b