Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Writing in the EYFS

I'm new to the eyfs this year but had no previous experience of working in a foundation class (i had never seen an eyfs classroom or a eyfs lesson!!!) I explained this to our new head and she sent me another school to observe. I had an amazing time but left slightly worried that im something seriously wrong! Her class were writing full sentences, capitals and fullstops too!! their writing was lovely and neat and they applied their phonics so well...

My class cannot do this apart from a couple of bright sparks. I'm a bit worried that they should all be at this level by now?

Also our new Head has set some very high (possibly unrealistic) targets for July - how many chn are u predicting to be exceeding ELG? i've been set a target of 18 in maths! otherwise if they only meet the 'expected' ELG i am only a satisfactory teacher which is not good enough by todays Ofsted!

Is anyone else feeling under a lot of pressure and seriously demoralised by the new eyfs profile and ofsted guidelines?

Hello I am finding that my children fully understand the concept of sentence writing but when we do iit unaided it goes all to pot., however through lots of child interest themed activities they Are slowly picking it up independently and do it in phonics very well. I do have a few very bright sparks who can write sentences unaided.i am happy at the moment that they Are reading more independently and writing CVC words and labels on their own.keep modelling your writing and planning it into your cp based around theirs Interests and next steps and you will be fine, there is still a half term and a term left dont worry. In terms of the early learning goals I am on track for quite high this year but i have a bright class all but 6 should meet or exceed by end of year a rose board. Hope this helped