Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Setting up a Foundation Unit

Hi all,

I'm a Reception teacher and Early Years Coordinator, who has been given the task of researching the organisation of a FSU, in our school, ready to discuss at a meeting next week.

We currently have a pre-school on site, which is not managed by the school and is going to close in the next few months. After many meetings with Early Years Consultants and Governors, it has been decided to set up as an FSU, with me taking a key role in setting it up and overseeing it.

I'm planning on going on some visits and am very excited by the challenge, but was wondering if anyone here could offer any suggestions for how we organise the day, timetables, use of adults and planning?

It's still very much in the planning stage, but we are likely to have at least 2 rooms and an outdoor area. At the moment I'm thinking we should have a base for F1 and F2, where we can do phonics, whole group sessions etc and then come together for continuous provision, with adults either working on focus activities or playing/observing. Any thoughts on this?

We are likely to have 1 teacher (me) 1 nvq 3, 1 nvq2 and possibly an unqualified assistant. Do you think both F1 & F2 should have equal 'teacher time' or do you think F2 should have more time with the teacher?

I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Thank you!

I'd be interested to know if an FSU can run with just one teacher or if you need 2 - 1 for nursery (F1) and 1 for reception (F2). All my experiences of them have 2 teachers and if they can run with just one does that have repercussions for preschools located near schools?