Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Lunchtime ratios

Hi all,

This is my first time on the forum and I am looking for some help please. I am the new co-ordinator of an Early years unit within a large primary school and I cannot find written down anywhere what the ration should be at a lunchtime with lunchtime supervisors with regards reception children. We have 2 classes of 26 children and our headteacher provides us with 2 lunchtime supervisors for 45 minutes. I am finding the behaviour of the children is affected by the afternoon session and activities and resources are being ruined during this time. I am worried that one day if there is an accident or a toileting issue we wouldn't be covered???

Thank you in advance everyone!

Hi I am similarly having this issue at lunchtimes as we have 1 lunchtime supervisor for 30 and she keeps them in our outside area at lunchtimes separate from the rest of the school ( for now) the behaviour of the children has been awful after lunch and i feel it is because she pretty much leaves them to their own devices and lets them get away with all sorts. I now consider it is unsafe in our small outside area. When I approached the head about my concerns she suggested that me and my TA took turns to help her at lunchtime which we have been doing but we're pretty resentful that were not getting a break apart from 15 mins or so to eat our lunch and no break in the morning either. The head is adamant she wants them kept separate from the rest of the school until Xmas but I don't think I can take it any longer, the same thing happens with us as well in that we set out the outside area and it gets trashed at lunchtime. Sorry cant help with ratios but to me it is all wrong that we wouldn't dream of there being any less than 2 adults with30 children who are trained and qualified normally but at lunchtime it is onto have 30 children supervised by 1 unqualified supervisor.

Deb