Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Ratios

hi

im wondering if anybody can help clarify something. i am a new manager and deploy my staff with the correct ratios . i have heard recently that now ofsted go by how many staff there is in the building rather that per room. so does this mean that for example it would be ok for the toddler age room to have 9 children with 2 members of staff because i am super numery.

My understanding of this mean more that it allows 'flexibilty' within the setting as to what is hapening at a given time........ so if you have some children sleeping etc.

Not sure if would count if you had 9 under 2s with all 'up and about' and freeflow in/out going on though. (this is only an example :1b - not saying /implying you do this :D )

xxx

Could you please link me or show me how you know about this new Ofsted regulation of "how many staff in the building" because i would love to keep up with this kind of information from now on :)

Thanks

I agree with looby loo on this, which is why I think very carefully before I agree to take 1 over numbers, 9 with a 1:4 ratio isnt very effective for us, although we do have three members of staff that are fully qualified and supernumery in anyway. I also bear in mind that when a carer is doing handover they are not counted in ratio, so you would effectively be 1:9 at welcome and close of day whenever a parent came, also for toileting etc you could end up very overnumbers esp if its a messy toilet incident that could take some time to sort out.

In emergencies I can see how staff need to be stretched, however if a setting plans /rotas to be just out of numbers this is not a good idea or practice and I'm sure that Ofsted would not be impressed.