Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Just Fed Up Again Really

I have been working for six hours today, typing up some observations on a child I have concerns about - planning for the first week back, updating staff rotas etc etc - I worked fours on Monday and I am so fed up with the monotonous mountain of work that I always have to do....Im not very good at delegation but not one of my staff would do what I do, I will probably claim a couple of hours extra for all this work as I know we are tight for money, we paid sick leave, full pay for a member of staff for 4 months last term - I am feeling bitter, undervalued and fed up but you know what its always the same, term in, term out - I have to get out!! :o

Chin up we all feel like that from time to time. Sounds like the children you look after are very lucky to have somebody who cares about what they do so much. Lets hope it rubs off on the staff around you to make your life a little easier!

Not quite sure what advice to offer as I am a workaholic myself but time to stop now it is a Friday evening! :o

I was a workaholic like you for 14 yrs - and in an odd sort of way did enjoy what I did, I wanted the best for the children (even though I always found myself working through the normal school holidays and beyond). I loved my setting, the staff team and the kids - but was evermore becoming disheartened with things. As a manager, I made the bold decision to leave in summer 2010 and don't regret it one bit. After an unusual year of employment opportunities following my decision to leave, I now have a fab job, less pay, more hours, still working with the age group I love (early years) BUT - I don't take ANY work home and I have really enjoyed having a half term holiday without doing anything work related - never known what this was like. Feel free to PM me if you want to chat/offload.