Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Anyone Keep Horses?

kristina

Hi

I am after picking someone's brains about the cost involved with keeping/insuring horses and I am sure someone on here will know!!

My youngest daughter (13yrs) has been riding/working at our local stables for 18 months and really loves working with the horses. She has been loaning Wallace over the holidays and the yard are putting him up for sale. Now I have plenty of experience with looking after dogs but think a horse could be a whole new ball game!! The yard would like £1500 for him and £500 for his tack, then £30 a week for living out, he is a 7 yr old skewbald cob cross (a bitzer!!). Does anyone know cost for insurance etc and I'm sure there's more involved!! Any advice would be good!

Kris

Hi

I am after picking someone's brains about the cost involved with keeping/insuring horses and I am sure someone on here will know!!

My youngest daughter (13yrs) has been riding/working at our local stables for 18 months and really loves working with the horses. She has been loaning Wallace over the holidays and the yard are putting him up for sale. Now I have plenty of experience with looking after dogs but think a horse could be a whole new ball game!! The yard would like £1500 for him and £500 for his tack, then £30 a week for living out, he is a 7 yr old skewbald cob cross (a bitzer!!). Does anyone know cost for insurance etc and I'm sure there's more involved!! Any advice would be good!

Kris

Hi Kris

This is a really useful leaflet which will give you an insight into what you are letting youreslf in for! http://www.horsetrust.org.uk/pdfs/beforeyo...ffordahorse.pdf

Hope it helps

£30 a week for living out seems a lot.

I have 2 ponies and livery at Bexley sidcup is £80 - £100 a month. Does the yard have good facilities? Flood lit sand school etc?

I was only paying £150 - £160 a month for stable and turnout.

Look on

http://trfrolics.proboards.com/index.cgi