Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Performance Management Target Linked To Scale Points Anyone?

Hi I am new to reception this year from Y2 and when I had my performance management meeting with our new head in september was given a target of getting 85% of my children to 6 points for CLL and PSRN. I thought nothing of it as am used to having similar targets as a Y2 teacher. As it is this target will be just about achieved but when I had my meeting with my Early Years adviser last week she was aghast that I had such a target and found the relevent bit in EYFS documents to support that it shouldn't happen. I just wondered how widespread it was or is it just me and now I don't quite know what to do about it. Would welcome your thoughts

Deb

I believe the need to set a pupil progress target of this type was removed in 2007, Im sure someone else will confirm if this is correct.

You may want to read through materials here

Also your school should have a performance management policy.

Im not sure what you do at this point in the year, so a chat with your Head and maybe your union might be in order.

If your cohort is going to meet this for you, then do you actually have a problem? If they are not going to meet this, will you have a problem?

I think I would find the relevant documentation for your PM review and the data to support your claim--either for or against the target having been met and then argue your point. Either way you need to make sure you are not set a target of this kind again.

You could, as Mundia suggests, contact your union as well.

Good luck