Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

New Role

Hi everyone, just wanting to let off steam a bit and perhaps get some advice, I have recently been promoted from a support worker to a practitioner

after completeing my nvq3, I have moved to a different room but am working with a lady who is so opinionated and stuck in her ways that she winds me up. She upset me today because, bearing in mind it is only my second week and I am still learning about my different shifts responsibilities, she shepherded the children into the bathroom before they went outside and then came over to me got quite colse to me and said something like." I have just spent 20 minutes ( more like 5 at the most, she also exagerates!) making sure the children went to the toilet before going out now you need to thank me, say thank you ...., and she said this in quite a nasty way and I was so taken aback that I said thank you! I have been stewing on this all day now and am probably building it up to something much bigger than it is but this woman makes me feel really small and she treats me a bit like a student and that any one who isn't a nursery nurse is rubbish. I know I am good at my job as the managers have all said to me that my practice is excellent but around this lady I do feel inadequate. I know I should probably confront her if she does this again but I don't like confrontation and she will probably just shout me down. Apart from that I am really enjoying my extra responsibilities and having my own key group. Any advice or support greatly appreciated! :o

Blimey! I'm not really sure I know what to say to this - I don't think you're building it up into something it isn't. Without knowing what else is going on (and I'm not one to jump to conclusions) this sounds like workplace bullying to me.