Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Early Years Worker In Cc

I am really on here to pick some brains (please)

Is anyone employed as an Early Years Worker in a Childrens Centre that does not have any nursery provision at all - but only operates 'drop in' parent and tots type of groups?

If so, what is your role as EY worker?

How do you plan and are you expected to follow the EYFS even though there are no children in your care?

Really intrigued to hear from anyone in that situation.

Hi there, there are a few members her doing your role so hopefully they will pop along shortly and share what they do.

When I was a CC teacher, our childcare was provided at another site, so our EY workers had no involvement with that. heir main role was running the stay and play sessions which ran every day but they would also run creches for when parents were attenidng classes; visited families at home alongside the family support worker; supported baby massage or any other grups we ran; supported families wth home learning... just a few examples.

This role will be different in each CC, to reflect the needs of the community. ARe you able to speak to anyone else in your area who is in the same position?

Regarding theEYF S, you will find that it still underpins everything you do via themes and comitments.

Hi there, there are a few members her doing your role so hopefully they will pop along shortly and share what they do.

When I was a CC teacher, our childcare was provided at another site, so our EY workers had no involvement with that. heir main role was running the stay and play sessions which ran every day but they would also run creches for when parents were attenidng classes; visited families at home alongside the family support worker; supported baby massage or any other grups we ran; supported families wth home learning... just a few examples.