Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Staff Ratio

Hi everyone I am a nursery teacher and have 13 in the morning rising 4's and repeat the number in the afternoon. I have just been tole that my T.A. has to go out and teacher SEN children 3 mornings and 2 afternoons a week. this will leave me alone. sometimes I hve parent helpers/students but I am worried if I need to go to the loo, accident, siezure one has diabetes type 1. etc. I have been told by the HD that the staff ratio is 1:13. Do I need another quailified t.a. in my room or not? I must admit I am not happy in case god forbid anything happens. would be grateful for any advice.

As far as I am aware the legal ratio for a teacher in Nursery is 1:13 and in Reception 1:30. I've looked into this as I'm in Reception and there was talk of me losing my TA due to an SEN child in Y2. However, this is clearly very unrealistic, especially with a child with specific needs like Diabetes. I agree with you that I'd be very worried in case something happened, let alone trying to deliver the EYFS properly! If your head is not sympathetic could you speak to one of the Governors? Good luck!

Statutory Framework for EYFS p49, Appendix 2A point 5 - " There must be at least 2 adults on duty in a setting at any time when children are present". This is a specific legal requirement. You cannot be on your own. Good luck.

I suspect the head might argue that 'on duty in a setting' means the setting (i.e. school) as a whole rather than the classroom.

Could the parents push for you to have an additional adult, that might make your HT sit up and take notice?

I think you should also do a risk assessment which raises your concerns, and pass a copy of that to the management.