Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Carpet /group Time For Under 2s

line

I'm looking for ideas for engaging younger children in story/song/rhyme times at the end of a session, imediately following outside time. I know that group time isn't always appropriate for very young children, but I want to make it irresistable for them, (even tho' it is quite acceptable for then to wander off if they want to.)

I work as a creche co-ordinator, and one of my responsibilities is to lead a 10 minute session where the children (aged up to 4 years) have story, songs etc. It isn't usually planned in any detail, so that we can follow on from the children's interests from earlier. However, I find it very difficult to engage all the age groups - I am great at stories and rhymes for the over 3s, but the younger children seem to get bored and wander off! I previously worked as a reception teacher so am great with sessions like this for that age group, and also worked with small groups of very young children that I knew very well, so snuggling up and sharing stories and songs etc with them was much easier. With these children I often don't know them so well and I feel such a failure when they all head off the carpet in search of something more interesting! The other co-ordinators don't have this problem so it isn't as if it is impossible!!!

Any suggestions gratefully received. I know this is a weakness for me and I want to improve :o

Hi Line, I'd make it as visual as possible. Lots of props, puppets anything that goes with the story or discussion and musical instruments whenever possible to aid the story. Make up stories with their names in too.

10 minutes is a very long time for a young one, 1 minute for every year of life is the rule of thumb.

:o

ummm 10 mins is a long time - can you shorten it? As Rea says lots of viuals, puppets and props for the children to hold with appropriate aged stories, songs an rhymes should help - but i would shorten the time :o