Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Just Starting Out

Hi everyone,

I used to be a nursery manager for a chain and my nursery was London based. Since having my second child going back to work was not an option. Now that he is over a year I have decided that although we live in a flat I am going to start childminding.

Yesterday I got my code and went to book onto a briefing session which are booked up for the next month. I have been told by a few people that it can take up to six months to get it all sorted and be able to take children in :( . I was really looking forward to getting started.

I was told that there will be a course I have to do before I can even let ofsted know and then they take ages to come visit too (ok so that bit didnt surprise me xD:o ).

Adele x

Hi

I think every area does it differently but when I registered in 2009 you could start the ball rolling with Ofsted before you had completed the course. I had my pre-registration visit while on the course. I to am a ex nursery manager and found the course frustrating as I already knew what they were trying to teach risk ass, planning and obs but it is a mandatory course. The longest wait for me was getting my health check back from my GP which I had to chase up. From starting my course to being registered was 4 months. (there was a wait to get on the course first ) Is your first aid up to date as you have to have that to before you start. I love my job and I don't miss the stress of my old management role at all.

Good luck

Tink69

Edited by Tink69

Apparently in our area you have to do the course first before you can contact ofsted. I thought it would be quickier than this getting it all sorted but its not fast at all :o

I will need to do my first aid too but I was hoping I could use the Grant (if I am eligable) to pay for the course. I also need to redo my CRB as I think that ran out a couple of years ago. Im so excited to get it underway!

Adele